Reviews

"Thank you again for a fantastic stay. We come here broken and shattered from city life and return fresh and ready to go again." 

“New, clean, stylish, it had everything we could want and was a great base from which to do all sorts of fun things for the family… Hurrah for North Farm, it made a great holiday and we hope to come again.”

“You thought of everything and the children had a great time which meant that we did too.”

"This hut is absolutely charming. We wished for a “get away from it all” break and it couldn’t have been better. We didn’t want to leave, but after some freshly cooked eggs (which we were able to purchase from our host) we said our farewells and I have an inkling that we may be back…"

“As soon as I arrived at North Farm, I knew it was going to be the perfect get-away. Far removed from busy roads, and residential areas. This place is situated amongst grassy fields and beautiful meadows. The farm grounds are utterly charming.”

"As a family of four, with a 5 year old and a nearly 2 year old, the cottage was excellent. Not only was the layout perfect but the owners had thought of everything both for adults and children alike."

“I don’t think we’ve ever rented such a comfortable and well-equipped cottage before, and we’ve been to quite a few! We really enjoyed the peace, quiet and space, as well as watching the Barn Owl fly to an fro and feed its young."

We have worked hard to make the Cottages and the Shepherd's Hut lovely places to come on holiday and it seems that our guests agree. Jump further down the page to the see the Shepherd's Hut reviews.

We always post our latest reviews or recommendations on  follow me on twitter and follow me on facebook  as well.  

Reviews of Barn Owl and Kingfisher Cottages

2018

Thank you, as ever, for a fabulous place to stay - the children are already asking to come back again soon! November 2018

Such a lovely place to stay. Couldn't fault it for cleanliness and comfort. The thoughtful touches were also great for instance, staying with children of any age was catered for from bath toys for little ones right up to a games room which my teenage boys loved. Will definitely be returning. October 2018

A wonderful week at this family friendly barn. Our 2 and 4 year old were well entertained by the amazing garden toys, books, endless indoor toys, bath toys and drawing equipment. Gill, our host was there whenever we needed her, nothing was too much trouble! September 2018

The cottage is very comfortable, peaceful and throughtfully set-up. As an artistic lone-traveller, I have found North Farm is the perfect location for visiting country places, bird watching, churches, the Cathedral, printmakers, potters, photographers - and at the the end of the day, a relaxing place to return to. September 2018

Fantastic! Beautiful spot, lovely welcoming cottages with all we needed. Kids' toys - fab and loved the welcome pack too!August 2018

Great accommodation for families with young children(but also any age group) . Good central location with everything within easy reach . Would definitely recommend to friends and family. The welcome hamper is also a very nice touch. July 2018

We liked playing snooker, riding on the little tractors, playing swingball and looking at the pottery. We had so much fun as it is was easy to get to lots of places for adventures.May 2018

We have just returned from a fabulous week staying in Kingfisher. It was so lovely to have all the equipment we needed for the children there ready for us, rather than having to bring it along. And we very much appreciated the welcome hamper! The cottage is very child friendly and having a safe, enclosed garden, complete with outdoor toys, was perfect for our two. And lots of trips to visit the tractor were the icing on the cake! May 2018

Our stay at North Farm was too short! The little extra touches like buns and bread rolls made it really special plus we appreciate the toys, book and childcare equipment, is makes everything so much easier! We' love to come back again in the summer so we can make the most of the wonderful garden and farm setting.
N, T and J (aged 1), March 2018

Our 3 and 1 year olds loved all the indoor and outdoor toys (especially the bath toys) and the comprehensive range of kitchen equipment for kids - especially the cups, plates etc. It made meal times much easier.  March 2018

2017

Beautiful, warm and cosy place to stay. Very tastefully decorated with all the utensils you'd ever need. More than enough beautifully made crockery and a clean and modern dishwasher and washer/dryer, alongside other kitchen gadgets... My children absolutely loved the games room with billiards and table tennis. December 2017

Thank you again for a fantastic stay. We come here broken and shattered from city life and return fresh and ready to go again. Thank you. October 2017 

You thought of everything and the children had a great time which meant that we did too. October 2017

We loved our time there and our little boy had a wonderful time playing with the garden toys. Everything was so well thought about and the welcome hamper was a lovely touch. Everything exceeded our expectations. We had a great holiday. The Norfolk coast was enchanting and we really enjoyed Overstrand beach.  September 2017

So quiet and relaxing with no sounds other than the birds. A stress-free holiday as we didn’t have to bring much for our daughter as the cottage is so well equipped for babies. Our daughter loved meeting the chickens and playing with all the garden toys. There is so much to do within an hours’ drive that we’ll have to come back again! August 2017

This was our very first family holiday together and everything about this place has made it very special. So many thoughtful touches to make our stay comfortable.  August 2017

As a family of four, with a 5 year old and a nearly 2 year old, the cottage was excellent. Not only was the layout perfect but the owners had thought of everything both for adults and children alike. As a result, it made for a very relaxing stay because we could switch off. We will be back!! August 2017

Once again, we had a lovely stay at North Farm and really enjoyed our time (and the weather!). We are already thinking about returning next year! August 2017

We have had a terrific time and your hospitality has been lovely. We would unhesitatingly recommend North Farm Cottages. August 2017

Spot on! The cottage and farm have been a joy and perfect for our 2 1/2 year old. The garden toys and chickens have been a highlight! Thank you. August 2017

Peaceful, cosy, very well-equipped for children – wonderful accommodation and lovely countryside.We will be back! July 2017 

Large enclosed garden with toys was a real highlight. As toys, cot, eating equipment etc is provided, it has meant going on holiday with a toddler has been stress-free! Thanks for such a good holidayJuly 2017

Excellent as always. We love this place! After coming here three summers in a row it feels like a second home. We already look forward to next Summer. North Farm Cottages has everything a family with young children need. The location is great for exploring Norfolk and Gill is the most amazing hostess. July 2017

Another fantastic year at the cottage. We cannot fault it. Everything is absolutely brilliant and Gill and David are always about being friendly and welcoming. The kids enjoy it more each year. Thank you so much! July 2017 

We like the cottages very much. I loved my bedroom. Thank you letting us play with the toys! (W, Aged 5) July 2017 

Peaceful, cosy, very well-equipped for children – wonderful accommodation and lovely countryside. We will be back! June 2017

What a wonderful time we had. Amazing facilities. Large enclosed garden with toys was a real highlight. As toys, cot, eating equipment etc is provided it has meant going on holiday with a toddler has been stress-free. June 2017

So quiet and relaxing, with no sounds other than the birds. A stress-free holiday as we didn’t have to bring much for our daughter as the cottage is so well equipped for babies. Our daughter loved meeting the chickens and playing with all the garden toys. There is so much to do within an hour’s drive that we’ll have to come back again. June 2017

Very enjoyable and good value for money. Family also stayed in the cottage next door which made sharing cooking and childcare easy. The cottage was clean, well equipped with appliances, beds/cots and kids toys. North Farm is well located and we reached most day-trip destinations in 20-30 minutes. The farm is secluded and very peaceful. We will be coming back. May 2017

Our stay was wonderful. You’ve created a magical place to be. The Barn Owl appeared when we arrived and we saw her delivering a mouse to the next on our final evening. We also loved feeding the chickens, visiting the pottery and seeing the beautiful trees and plants you are growing. May 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We’ve really appreciated everything you’ve provided, it’s made such a difference. We love your farm properties – amazing work and vision. April 2017

You can find our Trip Advisor reviews here.

Reviews of the Shepherd's Hut

2018

Beautiful, peaceful location with lovely set up and facilities. Fire pit by the Shepherds hut in the evenings, watching wildlife in the meadows and beautiful surroundings...... idyllic weekend away. September 2018

A lovely stay with my dog in the Shepherd's Hut. Great for a retreat stay away from it all. Dedicated shower and toilet, with fantastic hot water (solar supplied) plus fridge and washing up facilities made glamping "easy"! July 2018

We have returned home this afternoon from a lovely two night stay at the Shepherds Hut. It is a charming hut ideally set in a secluded meadow. We felt like we had enough privacy to sit out and relax but we were still close enough to the stable block for morning showers and to use the toilet facilities.  We enjoyed spotting a Barn Owl both days we were there! June 2018

Cozy, clean and well located. A much nicer way to camp. The hut felt very secluded, with a great area for our dogs to run around. The owners were really friendly and helpful and easy to find if needed. Felt far removed from the hustle and bustle of usual life. June 2018

Beautiful grounds and privacy in a rural but comfortable setting. Plenty of places to walk and felt very welcome. So nice to be able to arrive late - the hut was left open and the light left on, so we could find the way ourselves. Especially appreciated being able to bring the dog, who enjoyed his stay too. The hut was the perfect size for an upmarket glamping experience - great to open the door to nature every morning, after having a brilliant night's sleep in a very comfy bed. June 2018

Peaceful and spacious field with nearby stream and morning guest as the Barn Owl flew over the field. Great hospitality and warm welcome - we found everything we needed. Fully equipped washing/shower facilities with our own fridge and kettle. Thank you so much for a great adventure. May 2018

The peacefulness and natural beauty have been most restorative. April 2018

Cute, cosy and secluded shepherd's hut, host very accommodating and friendly. Information pack was helpful and hut heated up quickly with fire lit, games room was fun and the location was perfect for us - secluded but not too far away from towns and beautiful beaches. Local pub (The goat) just about walking distance (~30mins) and really nice food. March 2018

Fantastic hut on a beautiful farm. The host was very kind and inviting, always on hand if you needed something. The toilet/shower/kitchen area was perfect and cooking necessities provided. The hut's wood burner was kept us toasty which was needed in February! All round a fantastic experience and lots of local tips provided. An adventure not to forget, only 20 mins from beautiful Cromer and great walks in the local area too.  February 2018

Thank you for a fantastic weekend! The Shepherds Hut was great, we really enjoyed our stay and were warm and cosy both nights. We were lucky enough to spot the owl on Sunday morning. January 2018

This shepherds hut is a gem and is not one to be missed. Me and my partner spent two nights over New Years here and had a fantastic time. The farm was quiet and everything was in working order. Very friendly hospitality which went above and beyond our expectations. We would happily stay again! January 2018

2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay in your peaceful Shepherd’s Hut. We have both had a magical time. August 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful summer weekend with our two dogs in the Shepherd’s hut. The hut is set in a beautiful secluded location, perfect for watching the barn owls. A true shepherd’s experience. Having packed a frying pan and coffee pot we rustled up a three course dinner and cooked breakfast using the fire pit and wood provided. The exclusive use shower and washing facilities were immaculate....a perfect weekend. July 2017

The Shepherd’s Hut was perfect for a peaceful weekend away. The wood burning stove made the place nice and cosy, and with a glass of wine it all felt very Hygge! May 2017

We had an amazing two nights in the shepherds hut, greeted on arrival and shown around and then left to light a fire and enjoy a cup of tea! Although the weather was cold wet and windy we still had plenty to do, the games room entertained us in the evenings and once the cloud cleared we had a wonderful view of the stars from the comfort of the hut! We have both left feeling super relaxed and would happily visit again!! March 2017

We really loved staying in this Shepherd’s hut. It was super cosy and lovely and warm on cold February nights and it felt like a really unique, special experience. We’d highly recommend! February 2017

Fantastic hut hospitality and location. We arrived a cold foggy day and Gill had the log burner in the hut lit for our arrival. The hut itself is incredibly cosy, and insulated with lambswool so it doesn’t take long to get toasty. The bed is super comfy and the location is gorgeous. Lots of walks and nice driving around the country side. We can’t wait to get an opportunity to return. Highly recommended. ️️️️️January 2017